Africa-Kemetic Yoga

The spirituality of Africa is at the heart of Kemetic Yoga. The rhythm of the drum is the same as the cadence of our breathing technique called Rule of Four Breathing. Our movements and postures are geometric and reflect the ancient African principles of Sacred Geometry and the Golden Ratio. 

The philosophy behind our spiritual science is that of Ma'at and the Seven Principles of Thoth which seeks to manifest harmony in all things and apply universal law to perception, thought, behavior and creativity. In Kemetic Yoga we acknowledge the existence of the ancestors and seek to honor them, communicate with them, seek their guidance and receive their blessings. 

In Kemetic Yoga we recognize the power of the spirit forces that govern the workings of the universe and understand them from the perspective of spiritual science. We recognize that the foundation of the ALL is SPIRIT and that there exists an observable order to nature that is both consistent and able to respond to the power of consciousness. From this perspective we are able to create reality and manifest all that sustains life. 

Kemetic Yoga is the totality of existing and not simply placing the body in various physical postures. In fact the purpose of postures and movements is to circulate life force, harmonize with ancestral energy and enhance the process of manifestation and the creation of one's own reality and spiritual prosperity.

-Yirser Ra Hotep Lawrence


India-Hatha Yoga

Hatha Yoga is the physical practice of yoga. The asana practice of hatha yoga symbolizes the connection of the sun and the moon, bringing the world and the physical body into balance. Hatha also means “to strike,” meaning to strike the body with the challenge of the postures and to “yoke” (the meaning of yoga) the mind into singular focus. Most styles of yoga in the United States are based in Hatha with different philosophies, practices, and terminology that allow yoga to fit the individual practitioner. Its traditional source in relation to the postures is the Hatha Yoga Pradipika.

There are many styles or schools of Hatha Yoga: 

  • Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a fast-paced, flowing series of sequential postures as prescribed by yoga master K. Pattabhi Jois, who was an early student of Krishnamacharya’s. There are six series of asanas that increase in difficulty, allowing students to work at their own pace. Asanas are connected by the breath and are linked with sun salutations. Most classes taught in the United States focus on the Primary Series.

  • Iyengar Yoga was developed in Pune, India by BKS Iyengar, one of the most influential yogis of his time. Iyengar was a student of Krishnamacharya’s and took what he learned to cure himself of disease through asana and pranayama. In the Iyengar method, special attention is paid to precise muscular and skeletal alignment. Poses (especially standing postures) are typically held much longer than in other schools of yoga to allow for adjustments to be made. The Iyengar system also uses props, such as belts, chairs, blocks, and blankets, to help accommodate any special needs such as injuries or structural imbalances.

  • Viniyoga means yoga for the individual. As Krishnamacharya aged and taught his son TKV Desikachar, he focused on the adapting asana, pranayama and other yoga practices (ritual, chanting, prayer) to the individual. Viniyoga focuses on the traditional teachings of yoga and the adherence to a practice that serves the individual needs of the practitioner.

- 8 Limbs Yoga



What is Qi?
Qi is the animating power that permeates the universe and all living things. It is a basis for Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) -- Qi flows throughout the body’s energy pathways, or meridians, to help maintain essential health. The body is unwell when the flow of Qi becomes stagnant or blocked, whereas a free flowing and balanced Qi energizes the organs, systems and cells.

What is Qigong?
Qigong literally means “life energy work” -- a way of working with the life energy. It is a healing art, a way of cultivating physical, spiritual, emotional and psychical health, that originated in China about seven thousand years ago, widely practised by the shaman priests during that primitive era. Qigong is part of Traditional Chinese Medicine and was first detailed in an ancient Chinese medical text book -- the Huang Di Nei Jing or Yellow Emperor’s Inner Canon - that has been regarded as the fundamental doctrinal source for Chinese medicine for well over two millennia and is still in use today. Subsequent Chinese medical books published in antiquity also reveal detailed theory and the clinical practice of Qigong procedures for treating disease and enhancing health. The art of Qigong can be practised as physical movement that incorporates breathing exercises, or as stationary meditation.

Categories of Qigong                                           The art of Qigong has three categories which are medical (or healing) Qigong, meditation Qigong and martial Qigong. There are more than two thousand Qigong exercises that comprise of hundreds of different styles, engaged in moving, standing, lying or sitting. Some styles of Qigong foster Qi better than others because of their superior moves and applications those that are simple are typically more effective and can be excellent for the central nervous system, the chronically ill, and for general health.

Great Grand Master Kellen Chia